Frequently Asked Questions
Question #1: What is the total cost to get a Delaware Concealed Carry Permit?
Answer: That is a good question. There are a few variables that can make the cost fluctuate.
The cost of the Newspaper you put your article in and the ammunition for the pistol you will be using for the class will differ. I used the News Journal and do not include ammunition costs in the estimate.
SUMMARY OF FEES:
News Paper Article: $99 (News Journal)
Finger Printing: $65
Notary of Application: $5 (depends on where you go) Notary is available the day of class
Passport Photos: $15
Application Filing Fee: $65
CCDW Course: $150
100 rounds of ammunition: (depends on your caliber of pistol)
TOTAL (not including ammo cost): $399
Question #2: Will I need to bring a holster?
Answer: No, a holster is not allowed to be worn during the shooting portion of the CCDW Class, but you may bring yours to show others in the class what style you have..
Question #3: Can I use a .22 Caliber in your classes?
Answer: Yes, any pistol that is .22 caliber or greater may be used in our classes.
Question #4: Can I bring my child?
Answer: Only if he/she is 12 or older and is enrolled in the Basic Pistol Instruction Course. All children must be well behaved at all times.
Question #5: Can I bring my dog?
Answer: Only if he/she is a service dog.
Question #6: Does your classroom have toilet facilities?
Answer: Yes, it is a coed restroom and will be very clean!
Question #7: If I do not have a pistol, can I still take the course?
Answer: That is a multiple yes and no answer.
1a. Yes, I have pistols that may be used by students but you must identify that you require the use of the pistol. The student will have to purchase the required ammunition from me at the same cost I paid for it.
1b. You may also borrow from a family member or friend but will still be responsible to purchase the required ammunition dictated by the course requirements.
2. No. If you cannot borrow from a family member, friend or mine are in use, you will need to take a later class.
Question #8: Do I have to take the Concealed Carry Class before I apply for my permit?
Answer: No, you can apply for your permit as long as you do all the required steps outlined on the Concealed Carry Permit Instruction Sheet. Item 8 states that you will have 90 days to complete the required course once your permit has been approved. If you cannot take a class within the 90 day period, proof of registration in a class will need to be provided or your application will be terminated.
Question #9: How long does the approval process take?
Answer: The approval process can take up to and beyond 180 days depending on the background check and the amount of applications to process. Generally, Sussex and New Castle County averages around 120 - 180 days and Kent County is around 120 - 180 days. People with existing background checks (military, state employees, etc.) usually get theirs quicker.
Question #10: Where can I find the Self Defense Laws for Delaware?
Answer: You can look on the internet but can be easily confused by the amount of links. I purchased a book on the NRA Website (www.NRAstore.com) that I find invaluable and a must have for people with a Concealed Carry Permit. You do not need to be an NRA Member to purchase from the NRA Store. The book is called "Self Defense Laws of the 50 States with plain talk summaries" and is written by two attorneys. The book gives each states laws on self defense and they break it down in laymen terms. The book sells for $29.95.
The plain talk summaries are an interpretation of the laws by two attorneys and should not be taken as gospel! If you have specific questions concerning the laws of Delaware, contact an attorney.
Question #11: Where can I find the gun transportation criteria for my state?
Answer: As with question #9, the internet is a good source but can be confusing. I purchased another book on the NRA Website (www.NRAstore.com) that I find invaluable and a must have for people with a Concealed Carry Permit. You do not need to be an NRA Member to purchase from the NRA Store. The book is called "Travelers Guide to the Firearm Laws of the Fifty States". This book is very informative and a great reference tool if you plan on traveling with your gun. The book sells for $14.95.
Question #12: What states am I able to carry a concealed carry pistol in if I have a Delaware permit?
Answer: That is a very good question. Some states do recognize Concealed Carry Permits from other states and others do not. This is called "Reciprocity". A complete list of Reciprocity states can be found at in the Reciprocity tab on the left. The laws governing Reciprocity can change and should be checked frequently.
Question #13: Do I need to be an NRA member to take your courses?
Answer: No, I do not require you to be a member. Some schools do require this, but I do not. The choice is yours.
Question #14: I am a Delaware Resident and have a Concealed Carry Permit from another state. Can I use that Permit to carry in Delaware?
Answer: No, the Attorney Generals Website http://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/crime/concealedweapons.shtml.explains that a Delaware Resident must have a Delaware Concealed Carry Permit to legally carry.
Question #15: Where can I find ammunition?
Answer: You can look at any gun shop or sporting goods store (Dicks Sporting Goods, Cabela's, Gander Mountain, etc.) that sells firearms. There are plenty of places on-line that you may be able to purchase from as well. Supplies have been drastically low recently and you may need to look at multiple places. If you anticipate you will be taking a course with us, you may want to start looking as soon as possible. Remember, don't wait until the day before your class to look for ammo, without it you cannot take our course.
Question #16: Do you teach the Basic Pistol Course?
Answer: The answer is yes, I teach the material in the Basic Pistol Course in my all of my CCDW classes. I try to steer everyone away from taking only the Basic Pistol course, because the two courses are identical except that the Concealed Carry Course covers the items below.
* Instruction regarding federal and state laws pertaining to the lawful purchase, ownership, transportation, use and possession of firearms.
* Instruction regarding the laws of this State pertaining to the use of deadly force for self-defense.
* Instruction regarding techniques for avoiding a criminal attack and how to manage a violent confrontation, including conflict resolution.
Question #17: What distances do we shoot at for qualification?
Answer: NRA Course Standards are 21 feet (7 yards).
Question #18: I am active duty military stationed in Delaware but do not have a Delaware Drivers License. Can I take the Delaware Concealed Carry Course?
Answer: Yes, you can take the course, but you will not be allowed to apply for a DE CCDW Permit unless you become a resident of DE. Delaware does not have an exemption for military members when it comes to Concealed Carry certification.
Question #19: What is the minimum age to be able to apply for a Delaware Concealed Carry Permit?
Answer: The minimum age is 18. But, that person will only be allowed to carry in Delaware until they turn 21.